We’re Trying Not to be Plastic

Most of us know that we should reduce the use of plastic bags, or plastic anything, because plastic takes a very long time to degrade. And when I say that, I don’t mean a couple of decades but 500 to 1,000 years and even forever according to a few sources.

San Francisco appears to be one of the first cities to have ban plastic bags. Hoo-ray for SF! And tsk, tsk for the rest of the world? Tut-tut, we’re not about blaming here. Here are countries that have already taken the plastic problem into their own hands (not all have banned; some simply discourage the use of plastic bags): Australia, Bangladesh, Bombay (as I watched on the news earlier tonight), India, Ireland, Italy, South Africa, Taiwan and Zanzibar Islands.

We know plastic bags are bad for the environment, especially marine life. According to a report by BBC News:

Plastic bags are also bad for our health. An easy calculation revised again and again in my head when ever I think about using plastic to contain food- PLASTIC+FOOD=POISON. Now who wants poison for lunch? It is a slow suicide I am not willing to partake in.

Personally, I don’t use plastic bags to carry my groceries. I carry them in my bagpack. If I’m not carrying a bag, I manage with my things until I reach my car or room. Before I had knowledge about the dangers of plastic, I would just collect and accumulate plastic bags I’d been given to from the grocery store, or where ever I was shopping. I thought to myself, “We should re-use, what a waste if we didn’t!” So you re-use. And you re-use. And you re-use.

Then what?, after that?

You throw it away. It never really occured to me what would happen to those plastic bags, or if it did, I chose to ignore it. It was only when I read up more about plastic and other environmental issues did I realize what I was doing. -I was killing the Earth, the people around me and myself! What are we doing?

It is such a sad thing that an invention deemed “the material of a thousand uses” can turn into something disastrous, which I am sure was not one of the ‘uses’ intended. “I’ve created a monster!” is what I imagine Leo Baekeland would’ve said if he knew the state of the world today.

Still, it is not to say that all hope is lost. There are people out there trying to educate one another about this issue. And who’s to say you can’t do the same? Easy thing you can do is to think twice (or more, please!) before you do something that could potentially cause harm to yourself, others and the environment.

If you can do without that plastic bag, then why not? It’s not going to cause you anything, except to put a smile on your face knowing that even if it is just ONE plastic bag, that ONE plastic bag can turn into 364 plastic bags for the rest of the year. So you’ve just taken a big step by saying, “It’s okay, I don’t use/need it”.

We’re trying not to be plastic (in all ways intended)… Are you?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Irina on November 27, 2007 at 1:54 am

    hey, you could also use those calico grocery bags! they are a very good substitute for plastic bags, and very handy especially if you’re a person who buys lotsa groceries and can’t possibly fit them all into a backpack, like me.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Moon on December 23, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    We are trying…

    p/s: i’ve linked you..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

