Blue Birds

Old Car

I like my fair share of old things. Sentimental things, to be precise. A blue heart-shaped pendant with two loving birds is one of them. My younger sister has a matching green (which I am safe-keeping, I’m sorry). Looking at it in amazement at times, I could never understand what it stood for… The thought of two lovers together just didn’t quite cut it for me… Until I looked outside my room a few days ago and noticed two little sparrows (I’m guessing, I’m no expert) perched on top of a pipe. I yelped in amazement and told a friend closest to me, shrieking my teeth out; it brought me happiness! I would peep in once in a while to see if they were comfortable. Were they fidgeting? Was it comfortable? Too cold? Too loud? Too noisy? Anything?, my little babies…?

They were fine. Mother Nature was running its course and their feathers were keeping them nice and toasty. They puffed up as the night grew longer to keep themselves cold and eyes open or close, I wasn’t sure, but they hardly moved. I’ve kept a watch on them for the past few days, and on one of the nights, they flew away because it was my bright idea to turn the lights on (not to scare them, but to scare those rain bugs away). Mistake, but I’ve learned from it and they’re back, which to my second amazement and delight, my friend jumped with joy just as how I did before! (Happiness is contagious after all!) Now, the two little birds are cuddling up on the exact spot as I type away.

I don’t believe in coincidence, for many occurences in my life have allowed me to be at the right place, the right time and with the right people. Sparks fly, and sometimes they hurt your eye (that’s when the tears come), but you live, you learn. The pair of birds act as a sort of symbol to me to the many different turnings of the wheel of life..

On a supposedly cold night by the beach which made me feel rather warm, I was lying on my back, staring into the black, cloudy sky on a weekend with a close friend and a psychologist. Next to a quiet pool, it was no therapy session. -It was an insightful talk with the new friend psychologist who called me ‘naive’ for saying that there is a reason for everything. Talk to a (psychologist who is your) friend and you get more honesty,.. rather from them, not necessarily about you. So it took me some strength to learn not to argue, but to respect, to appreciate the miracle in thoughts and ideas, rather than by assertively reacting and disagreeing just because it didn’t coincide with my beliefs. Sometimes, we have to learn how to shut up, and just enjoy the ride. -Enjoy the miracle of ideas, of being, of listening.

Having thought about the little pair of birds and being overwhelmed by them, and having to think that there is a purpose to life really reconstructs what you think about the world. Is a degree/masters/PhD what I want to do? Do I want to work a 9-to-5 job? In front of the computer? The whole day? Do I really want to sleep in this holiday and waste all the sunlight away? And simply… isn’t today (or anyday for that matter) a great day for a walk? (Rain or shine?)

There are so many rules that we make up for ourselves that you wonder sometimes if the organization or process of a man-made creation is really… not what it was meant to be after all. Some will learn to share your little excitement to discoveries not known truly, deeply to man, and some will wince and move on with their lives.

Either way, whether you believe in the big bang, the theory of evolution, or in a pair of loving birds warming their little butts on an old, off-white pipe, know that there are miracles -scientific and religious- in every spark, every monkey tail, every bird feather, and every typing letter..

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Adah on May 15, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I love this post, oh those birds, those birds, I love them too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by rosinha on May 24, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Very poetic post. I enjoyed reading this much! x.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

