Waking Up

Waking Up

I woke up today in my sister’s room. All around me were books on religion and Islam, and Southeast Asia… Then I wondered about the meaning of life, and I realize it is all relative. Just like how wearing (or not wearing) the hijab can mean different things for different individuals; what brings them to put it on (or take it off) are a kaleidoscope of lifestyles, habits, wants and needs.

So I wonder again. I wonder what is the meaning of life to a person who has practiced and taught yoga for her whole life and then wakes up to fatwas strewn across local newspapers telling her that “yoga is ban/haram”. I wonder what is the meaning of life to a Muslim girl who falls in love with a Christian guy and both are willing to respect each other’s religion. I wonder what is the meaning of life to a Burmese refugee who lost his family, people and country, and yet has come to come to another country who will not accept him as a human being, but treats him and calls him an alien. I wonder what is the meaning of life when someone marries the wrong person and takes years to build back his/her self-confidence.

And this is where the similarities come in.

Standing up for what you believe in, although (it seems like) the rest of the world might believe… you. are. wrong.

The meaning of life to a person like me,…? Is simply beauty. That beauty can be found if one just open his or her eyes. It’s all already there. What we have to do is decide.

Leave a Reply

