BEAT IT!

I’m going through my playlist, trying to figure out which song to use for the poetry scansion (dissecting a poem in a way) before I run off for a friend’s birthday party… There are soo many good songs out there. I cherish listening to slow and steady love songs by out-there rock bands, and re-discovering musicians and singers I haven’t heard in a while… It’s beautiful, magical, this world of words and sounds.

Truth be told, I don’t just want to dissect them and cut them up, analyzing every bit and parcel of its molecular make-up, I want to engulf it, swallow it, make it whole, make it one with me. And that’s why memorization is so important. Like how we remember our favourite songs by heart (and even those annoying tunes that get stuck in our heads), if only it were the same with poetry!

I enjoy memorizing words and notes to songs -for choir in high school, to the choir representing Penang, it was hard work, and late nights… But sore throats later, you already miss the songs while singing them on performance night. You know that nothing is better, than those lights and those people hiding behind the flashes… But they disappear totally when the orchestra tunes into the wavelength of the choir, as the conductor waves his hands like a maniac on fire.

These few days I was thinking about ideas being stolen and not credited or appreciated… Then I remember what my father says, “No one really owns ideas.” And so I let them go, and the music and bands that I love, the powerful lyrics they possess, I do not control or cage them, they’re here to take and be loved..

These are the people & poetry & music I love (though it’s important to note, I haven’t heard everything from everyone):

corinne bailey rae, matchbox 20, 3EB, ben harper, maroon 5, the shins, andrew bird, collective soul, onerepublic, death cab for cutie, eskimo joe, fiona apple, foo fighters, gavin degraw, goldspot, jack johnson, jerome kugan, jimmy eat world, joe satriani, joss stone, just jack, keane, leonardo’s bride, the magic numbers, mika, paolo nutini, RATM, red hot chili peppers, sergio mendez, david guetta, sevendust, sandi thom, the shins, stacie orrico, the strokes, sugar ray, switchfoot, tilly and the wall, toploader, U2, the verve pipe, van hunt, vinnie clark, yann tiersen, westlife (i just had to put this)… and so much more!

And now, there’s only one thing to say…

BEAT IT!

Leave a Reply

